Spec Script Deal: “Mary”

June 24th, 2016 by

Tooley Productions acquires thriller spec script “Mary” written by Anthony Jaswinski. From Deadline:

It’s a supernatural thriller in which a struggling family buys an old ship at auction with high hopes of starting a charter business, only to discover her horrifying secrets on the isolated open waters.

Described as a “competitive bidding situation”.

Jaswinski is repped by Paradigm and Circle of Confusion.

By my count, this is the 35th spec script deal of 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Trigger Warning”

June 24th, 2016 by

Thunder Road Pictures acquires action spec script “Trigger Warning” written by Josh Olson and John Brancato. From Deadline:

The script is described as a female First Blood with John Wick thrown in for good measure, where the reluctant heroine reveals herself in a small town.

Olson is repped by Paradigm and The Gotham Group. Brancato is repped by Claire Best & Associates.

By my count, this is the 34th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Moonfall”

June 24th, 2016 by

Universal Pictures acquires science fiction spec script “Moonfall” written by Roland Emmerich, Harald Kloser, and Spenser Cohen. From Deadline:

This one is best described as Emmerich’s 2012 mashed together with Close Encounters of the Third Kind, following an unlikely band of misfits who must unite to save humanity when the moon falls out of orbit and hurtles towards earth.

Emmerich and Kloser are repped by CAA. Cohen is repped by WME.

You can read my May 2013 interview with Spenser Cohen here.

By my count, this is the 33rd spec script deal of 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Do No Harm”

June 18th, 2016 by

Paramount Pictures acquires 2015 Black List script “Do No Harm” written by Julia Cox. From Deadline:

Script is an erotic thriller in the vein of Unfaithful and Fatal Attraction, and it’s drawing interest from talent.

Cox wrote another Black List script (2014): “The Takeaway”. She is repped by APA and Allison Doyle.

By my count this is the 32nd spec script deal in 2016.

There were 34 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Reason of State”

June 11th, 2016 by

Black Bear Pictures acquires political thriller spec script “Reason of State” written by Matthew Orton. From Deadline:

A taut political thriller unfolding over 24 hours inside one of the world’s most famous addresses: 10 Downing Street.

—-

Reason Of State is the second recent spec to sell by the UK-based Orton, whose Untitled Eichmann Project landed by MGM after a bidding battle, with Chris Weitz now firmly attached as director.

Orton is repped by WME, The Agency, and Grandview.

By my count, this is the 31st spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Backward Fall”

June 9th, 2016 by

Storyscape Entertainment acquire science fiction love story spec script “Backward Fall” written by Byron Willinger and Phillip De Blasi. From Deadline:

The plot centers on a fantastical story about a man and a woman who are falling in love as they literally fall backward through time, sometimes landing in the same time period and sometimes losing one another for years. They struggle to stay together while trying to understand what is happening to them and why.

Deal is for low-six figures.

Writers are repped by Verve.

By my count, this is the 30th spec script deal of 2016

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Burn Run”

June 7th, 2016 by

Thunder Road Pictures acquires action spec script “Burn Run” written by Mitchell LaFortune. From Deadline:

Burn Run was pitched as Sicario meets Jason Bourne with the storyline “when an intelligence leak dangerously exposes a covert mission in Afghanistan, a grieving CIA operative and his translator must find their way out of the desert, outgunned and hunted by elite special forces.”

LaFortune is repped by Paradigm.

By my count, this is the 29th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “17 Bridges”

June 4th, 2016 by

STX Entertainment acquires thriller spec script “17 Bridges” written by Adam Mervis. From Deadline:

The thriller follows a disgraced detective in the NYPD who is given a shot at redemption. Thrust into a citywide manhunt for a cop killer, he begins to undercover a massive conspiracy that links his fellow cops to a criminal empire and must decide who he is hunting and who is actually hunting him. During the manhunt, Manhattan is completely locked down for the first time in its history – no exit or entry to the island including all 17 bridges.

Mervis is repped by Paradigm and Grandview.

By my count, this is the 28th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “The Gun Show”

June 4th, 2016 by

Paramount Pictures acquires cop comedy spec script “The Gun Show” written by Lucas Carter. From Deadline:

An action comedy in the vein of Ride Along meets Demolition Man, the spec focuses on a famous top cop who wakes up 20 years after a shootout and gets reinstated to solve the case that killed his old partner. He’s a bull in a china shop, as 2016 is a very different time than the 1990s world he was used to. To teach him the ropes, he’s paired with his old partner’s son, who is a risk averse traffic cop.

Carter is repped by Echo Lake Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 27th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “The Last Days of Night”

May 11th, 2016 by

Black Bear Pictures acquires historical drama spec script “The Last Days of Night” written by Academy Award winner and Black List screenwriter Graham Moore. From Deadline:

Teddy Schwarzman’s Black Bear Pictures has won an auction that puts him back together with Graham Moore and Morten Tyldum, with whom he made the Best Picture-nominated hit The Imitation Game. Schwarzman has acquired a package for  The Last Days Of Night, which Moore (who won an Oscar for adapting The Imitation Game) has adapted in a spec script from the novel he wrote which Random House will published September 20.

—-

Like The Imitation Game, this one involves seminal technological geniuses. The publisher describes it as being “about the nature of genius, the cost of ambition, and the battle to electrify America. New York, 1888. The miracle of electric light is in its infancy. Thomas Edison has won the race to the patent office and is suing his only remaining rival, George Westinghouse, for the unheard of sum of one billion dollars. To defend himself, Westinghouse makes a surprising choice in his attorney: He hires an untested twenty-six-year-old fresh out of Columbia Law School named Paul Cravath. The task facing Cravath is beyond daunting. Edison proves to be a formidable, wily, and dangerous opponent. Yet this young, unknown attorney shares with his famous opponent a compulsion to win at all costs. How will he do it? As he takes greater and greater risks, he’ll find that everyone in his path is playing their own game, and no one is quite who they seem.” Woven into the tale are Nikola Tesla, Alexander Graham Bell, Stanford White and other technological titans of the late 19th century.

This sets up a race of sorts with The Weinstein Company’s project The Current War also about the competition between Edison and Westinghouse.

Moore is repped by CAA and Think Tank Management.

By my count, this is the 26th spec script deal of 2016.

There were 28 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.