Spec Script Deal: “Besties”

July 23rd, 2016 by

DreamWorks and Montecito Pictures acquire comedy spec script “Besties” written by Cassie Daniels and Mark Bartosic. From Deadline:

It’s described as Wild Hogs meets My Best Friend’s Wedding and follows a woman who finds a long-lost love note then sets off on a road trip with her three best friends to break up the wedding of her childhood crush.

DreamWorks beat out two other potential buyers with a deal reported to be low-to-mid-six figures.

Daniels and Bartosic are repped by Paradigm.

By my count, this is the 38th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 38 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “The Fall”

July 8th, 2016 by

Amblin Entertainment acquires science fiction spec script “The Fall” written by Pete Bridges. From Deadline:

In the midst of an alien invasion, a freshly divorced couple must survive a dangerous real-time journey on foot from downtown Atlanta to the suburbs, where their young children are home alone.

Bridges is repped by Verve and Madhouse Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 37th spec script deal of 2016.

There were 36 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Porter Rockwell”

July 3rd, 2016 by

Hyperion Media Group acquires period western spec script “Porter Rockwell” written by Antonio Macia. From Deadline:

The Western action-adventure drama is based on Rockwell, the real-life gunslinging bodyguard of Mormon Church founder Joseph Smith (and later Brigham Young) who was known as the “Destroying Angel of Mormondom” for his violent ways.

The story is set in the Utah territory during the mid-1800s gold rush. Rockwell, who became a U.S. Deputy Marshal, reluctantly leads a family of prospectors into the mountains, where they are ambushed and he is left for dead. Fueled by vengeance, Rockwell treks through rugged and snowy terrain to hunt down the gang that kidnapped a rebellious young girl.

Macia is repped by Paradigm and Management 360.

By my count, this is the 36th spec script deal of 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Mary”

June 24th, 2016 by

Tooley Productions acquires thriller spec script “Mary” written by Anthony Jaswinski. From Deadline:

It’s a supernatural thriller in which a struggling family buys an old ship at auction with high hopes of starting a charter business, only to discover her horrifying secrets on the isolated open waters.

Described as a “competitive bidding situation”.

Jaswinski is repped by Paradigm and Circle of Confusion.

By my count, this is the 35th spec script deal of 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Trigger Warning”

June 24th, 2016 by

Thunder Road Pictures acquires action spec script “Trigger Warning” written by Josh Olson and John Brancato. From Deadline:

The script is described as a female First Blood with John Wick thrown in for good measure, where the reluctant heroine reveals herself in a small town.

Olson is repped by Paradigm and The Gotham Group. Brancato is repped by Claire Best & Associates.

By my count, this is the 34th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Moonfall”

June 24th, 2016 by

Universal Pictures acquires science fiction spec script “Moonfall” written by Roland Emmerich, Harald Kloser, and Spenser Cohen. From Deadline:

This one is best described as Emmerich’s 2012 mashed together with Close Encounters of the Third Kind, following an unlikely band of misfits who must unite to save humanity when the moon falls out of orbit and hurtles towards earth.

Emmerich and Kloser are repped by CAA. Cohen is repped by WME.

You can read my May 2013 interview with Spenser Cohen here.

By my count, this is the 33rd spec script deal of 2016.

There were 35 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Do No Harm”

June 18th, 2016 by

Paramount Pictures acquires 2015 Black List script “Do No Harm” written by Julia Cox. From Deadline:

Script is an erotic thriller in the vein of Unfaithful and Fatal Attraction, and it’s drawing interest from talent.

Cox wrote another Black List script (2014): “The Takeaway”. She is repped by APA and Allison Doyle.

By my count this is the 32nd spec script deal in 2016.

There were 34 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Reason of State”

June 11th, 2016 by

Black Bear Pictures acquires political thriller spec script “Reason of State” written by Matthew Orton. From Deadline:

A taut political thriller unfolding over 24 hours inside one of the world’s most famous addresses: 10 Downing Street.

—-

Reason Of State is the second recent spec to sell by the UK-based Orton, whose Untitled Eichmann Project landed by MGM after a bidding battle, with Chris Weitz now firmly attached as director.

Orton is repped by WME, The Agency, and Grandview.

By my count, this is the 31st spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Backward Fall”

June 9th, 2016 by

Storyscape Entertainment acquire science fiction love story spec script “Backward Fall” written by Byron Willinger and Phillip De Blasi. From Deadline:

The plot centers on a fantastical story about a man and a woman who are falling in love as they literally fall backward through time, sometimes landing in the same time period and sometimes losing one another for years. They struggle to stay together while trying to understand what is happening to them and why.

Deal is for low-six figures.

Writers are repped by Verve.

By my count, this is the 30th spec script deal of 2016

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.

Spec Script Deal: “Burn Run”

June 7th, 2016 by

Thunder Road Pictures acquires action spec script “Burn Run” written by Mitchell LaFortune. From Deadline:

Burn Run was pitched as Sicario meets Jason Bourne with the storyline “when an intelligence leak dangerously exposes a covert mission in Afghanistan, a grieving CIA operative and his translator must find their way out of the desert, outgunned and hunted by elite special forces.”

LaFortune is repped by Paradigm.

By my count, this is the 29th spec script deal in 2016.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2015.