Spec Script Deal: “Crash Site”

July 29th, 2015 by

Alcon Entertainment acquires science fiction spec script “Crash Site” written by Chuck Pfarrer. From THR: “Plot details for the project are being kept deep in a government bunker.”

Pfarrer is repped by WME and Apostle Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 40th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 38 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Bed Rest”

July 27th, 2015 by

MGM acquires thriller spec script “Bed Rest” written by Lori Evans Taylor. From Deadline:

Spec is a Hitchcockian thriller in the vein of Rear Window and What Lies Beneath, centering on a pregnant woman who is isolated and confined to bed rest.

—-

This was a competitive situation with interest from multiple studios.

This is the first deal for Evans who is repped by Kaplan/Perrone.

By my count, this is the 39th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 36 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “The Edge of Normal”

July 19th, 2015 by

Bold Films acquires thriller spec script “The Edge of Normal” written by Matt Venne. From Variety:

“The Edge of Normal” tells the story of a woman who escaped captivity from a sadistic sexual predator when she was a teenager. Ten years later, she remains haunted by her memories as she struggles to pull her life together. She finds ultimately herself drawn into a deadly cat-and-mouse game with a clever psychopath who seems to know her every move.

Based on Carla Norton’s 2013 novel. Competitive bidding situation.

Writer repped by APA and Industry Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 38th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 36 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “The Fixer”

July 17th, 2015 by

Fubar Films acquires 2013 Black List thriller spec script “The Fixer” written by Bill Kennedy. From Deadline:

Set in the gritty intersection of the Los Angeles nightlife and organized crime, the plot follows a mob fixer who retires to repair his broken personal life but, finding his son distant and uninterested in a relationship, once again is drawn into the criminal underworld and finds a willing protégé in a young drug dealer.

This is an option deal.

Writer is repped by WME and Kaplan/Perrone Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 37th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 34 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Prince Charming”

July 7th, 2015 by

Walt Disney Pictures acquires fantasy comedy spec script “Prince Charming” written by Matthew Fogel. From THR:

Disney pioneered the recent and lucrative trend of taking either old animated classics or fairy tales and spinning them into live-action features.

And since no other studio has done more to ensconce the idea of Prince Charming into the public mind — with movies such as Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella — it is most appropriate the studio take a close look at the man as well.

Details are being kept behind a moat, but the script is described as a revisionist take on the fairy tales.

More from The Guardian:

Prince Charming will not follow the titular character, but rather his brother who has struggled to compete thanks to a lack of charm.

The script was offered to studios last week, but Disney outbid them all, hoping to follow its ever-increasing list of live-action kids’ movies. As well as the success of Alice in Wonderland, Maleficent and Cinderella, the studio has also planned new takes on Beauty and the Beast, Dumbo, Mulan, Pocahontas and The Jungle Book.

Red Riding Hood. Snow White and the Huntsman. Cinderella. Prince Charming. Live-action versions of fairy tales is definitely a ‘thing’.

Writer is repped by UTA.

By my count, this is the 36th spec script deal of 2015.

There were 31 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Move That Body”

June 22nd, 2015 by

Sony acquires R-rated comedy spec script “Move That Body” written by Lucia Aniello and Paul W Downs. From Deadline:

She [Aniello] is attached to direct a female-driven comedy described as The Hangover meets Weekend At Bernie’s, and he [Downs] is attached to play the male lead.

Aniello and Downs are co-executive producers of the Comedy Central series “Broad City”.

Writers are repped by UTA and 3 Arts.

By my count, this is the 35th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 31 spec script deals in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Free Fall”

June 15th, 2015 by

Universal Pictures acquires spec script “Free Fall” written by Gregg Maxwell Parker and Sean Finegan. From Deadline:

When a man joins his estranged daughter on a mountain climb in an attempt to repair their relationship, a tragic accident leaves them stranded hundreds of feet in the air. As a storm sets in, the two must fight against the elements and terrifying heights in order to survive.

Writers are repped by Paradigm and Madhouse Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 34th spec script deal in 2015.

There were 30 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “The Water Man”

June 14th, 2015 by

Walt Disney Pictures acquires drama spec script “The Water Man” written by Emma Needell. From Deadline:

The Water Man is a magical family drama about a precocious young boy Gunner who, in order to save his ill mother, runs away from home to find a mythic/legendary character called The Water Man, who has been rumored to be able to cheat death. While extremely close to his mother, he and his father Amos have an adversarial relationship and are forced to learn about each other as Amos goes on the search for his son.  It has elements of Stand By Me mixed with the tonal ambition of classic Steven Spielberg films like E.T. or Close Encounters Of The Third Kind.

Writer is repped by WME and Anonymous Content.

By my count, this is the 33rd spec script deal in 2015.

There were 30 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Collateral Beauty”

June 11th, 2015 by

PalmStar Media acquires drama spec script “Collateral Beauty” written by Allan Loeb. From Variety:

The story follows a New York advertising executive who experiences a deep personal tragedy. When his colleagues devise an unconventional plan to break him out of his depression, the plan works, but not in a way that anyone imagined.

Writer is repped by CAA.

By my count this is the 32nd spec script deal in 2015

There were 28 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.

Spec Script Deal: “Parents Weekend”

June 2nd, 2015 by

Lotus Entertainment acquires comedy spec script “Parents Night” written by Peter Scott. From Deadline:

…an expected R-rated comedy about a couple who take advantage of their freshman son’s parents weekend to have the college experience they never had while visiting him.

That’s a terrific comedic spin on Back to School.

Writer is repped by Gersh and Industry Entertainment.

By my count, this is the 31st spec script deal in 2015.

There were 27 spec script deals year-to-date in 2014.